Penguin Books LTD Digital

  • FEATURED IN THE TIMES TOP 100 CRIME & THRILLERS SINCE 1945 THE GRIPPING & UNPUTDOWNABLE THRILLER FROM THE BESTSELLING CRIME WRITING SENSATION, PERFECT FOR FANS OF THE KILLING, JO NESBO AND SCANDI NOIR. She scratches at the walls until her fingers bleed. But there is no escaping the room. She doesn't know how long she's been there. She vows not to go mad. She will not give her captors the satisfaction. She would rather die. Copenhagen detective Carl M rck has been taken off homicide to run a newly created department for unsolved crimes. His first case concerns politician Merete Lynggaard, who vanished five years ago. Everyone says she's dead. Everyone says it's a waste of time. He thinks they're right. But she isn't dead... yet. Can they save her in time? Dark, mysterious and gripping, Mercy establishes Jussi Adler-Olsen as the master of the Nordic thriller. If you like Mercy, you'll love the rest in the Department Q series: Redemption, Disgrace, Guilt and BuriedPraise for Jussi Adler-Olsen:'The new 'it' boy of Nordic Noir' The Times 'Gripping story-telling' Guardian'This pitch-black novel will have readers hungry for more' Independent

  • Anglais Guilt

    Jussi Adler-Olsen

    Following the international No 1 bestsellers Mercy and Disgrace, Guilt is the fourth heart-stopping Department Q novel from Jussi Adler-Olsen, and a gripping treat for all fans of the Scandinavian crime thriller.1987. Nete Rosen thought she'd put her traumatic youth behind her. Her caring foster parents and loving husband helped her start again. However, when a man from her past reappears one night, Nete's new life could be shattered.But she won't be drawn back into that nightmare - she won't be a victim again...2010. Detective Carl Morck from Copenhagen's cold case division is looking into the disappearance of Rita Nielsen, an escort agency owner. The investigation reveals that Rita is only one piece of the puzzle.Because this is not a one-off incident - but part of a disturbing pattern which has been hidden from prying eyes for over twenty years...'Gripping storytelling' Guardian 'Engrossing' Sunday Express'As impressive as it is unnerving' IndependentJussi Adler-Olsen was born in Copenhagen and worked as a magazine editor and publisher before starting to write fiction. Mercy and Disgrace are the first two in currently four novels in the Department Q series. He holds the prestigious Glass Key Award, given annually for a crime novel by a Scandinavian author, and is also winner of the Golden Laurels, Denmark's highest literary accolade.

  • A boy is on the run from an international conspiracy. Read a dark and gripping thriller in the 16-million-copy bestselling Department Q series, for a special price - perfect for readers of Jo Nesbo . . . Over three years ago, a civil servant vanished after returning from a work trip to Africa. Missing, presumed dead, the man's family still want answers.It is one of the many unsolved crimes facing Department Q, Denmark's specialist cold case unit headed up by Detective Carl Morck. But what Carl doesn't know is that the key to the investigation can be found right here in Copenhagen...Fifteen-year-old Marco Jameson is tough, smart and very suspicious of police. Sleeping rough and hiding in the shadows is his way of life. But what does he know worth killing for - and will the police find him before whoever he is running from?Praise for Jussi Adler-Olsen
    'The new "it" boy of Nordic Noir' The Times
    'Gripping story-telling' Guardian
    'Mesmerising... As impressive as it is unnerving' Independent
    'Engrossing' Sunday Express

empty