Penguin Group US

  • The first book in New York Times bestsellerJussi Adler-Olsen's electrifying Department Q series.
    The #1 international bestseller from Jussi Adler-Olsen, author of The Absent One-'perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson's The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
    Carl Morck used to be one of Copenhagen's best homicide detectives. Then a hail of bullets destroyed the lives of two fellow cops, and Carl-'who didn't draw his weapon-'blames himself. So a promotion is the last thing he expects. But Department Q is a department of one, and Carl's got only a stack of Copenhagen's coldest cases for company. His colleagues snicker, but Carl may have the last laugh, because one file keeps nagging at him: a liberal politician vanished five years earlier and is presumed dead. But she isn't dead ... yet.
    Darkly humorous, propulsive, and atmospheric, The Keeper of Lost Causes introduces American readers to the mega-bestselling series fast becoming an international sensation.

  • Jussi Adler-Olsen's Department Q series, with more than fourteen million copies sold worldwide, continues with the most chilling cold case yet.
    In 1987, Nete Hermansen plans revenge on those who abused her in her youth, including Curt Wad, a charismatic surgeon who was part of a movement to sterilize wayward girls in 1950s Denmark.
    More than twenty years later, Detective Carl Morck already has plenty on his mind when he is presented with the case of a brothel owner, a woman named Rita, who went missing in the eighties: New evidence has emerged in the case that destroyed the lives of his two partners-'the case that sent Carl to Department Q.
    But when Carl's assistants, Assad and Rose, learn that numerous other people disappeared around the same weekend as Rita, Carl takes notice. As they sift through the disappearances, they get closer and closer to Curt Wad, who is more determined than ever to see the vision of his youth take hold and whose brutal treatment of Nete and others like her is only one small part of his capacity for evil.

  • The New York Times and # 1 international bestselling author Jussi Adler-Olsen returns with the third book in his exhilarating Department Q series.
    Detective Carl Morck holds in his hands a bottle that contains old and decayed message, written in blood. It is a cry for help from two young brothers, tied and bound in a boathouse by the sea. Could it be real? Who are these boys, and why weren't they reported missing? Could they possibly still be alive?
    Carl's investigation will force him to cross paths with a woman stuck in a desperate marriage- her husband refuses to tell her where he goes, what he does, how long he will be away. For days on end she waits, and when he returns she must endure his wants, his moods, his threats. But enough is enough. She will find out the truth, no matter the cost to her husband-'or to herself.
    Carl and his colleagues Assad and Rose must use all of their resources to uncover the horrifying truth in this heart-pounding Nordic thriller from the #1 international bestselling author Jussi Adler-Olsen.

  • The New York Times and internationally bestselling author returns with an astonishing and sinister case for Department Q
    All fifteen-year-old Marco Jameson wants is to become a Danish citizen and go to school like a normal teenager. But his uncle Zola rules his former gypsy clan with an iron fist. Revered as a god and feared as a devil, Zola forces the children of the clan to beg and steal for his personal gain. When Marco discovers a dead body-'proving the true extent of Zola's criminal activities-'he goes on the run. But his family members aren't the only ones who'll go to any lengths to keep Marco silent . . . forever.
    Meanwhile, the last thing Detective Carl Morck needs is for his assistants, Assad and Rose, to pick up a missing persons case on a whim: Carl's nemesis is his new boss, and he's saddled Department Q with an unwelcome addition. But when they learn that a mysterious teen named Marco may have as much insight into the case as he has fear of the police, Carl is determined to solve the mystery and save the boy. Carl's actions propel the trio into a case that extends from Denmark to Africa, from embezzlers to child soldiers, from seemingly petty crime rings to the very darkest of cover-ups.

  • New York Times bestseller Jussi Adler-Olsen returns with the second book in his electrifying Department Q series
    'The new 'it' boy of Nordic Noir' (The Times, London) delivers an electrifying follow up to his New York Times bestselling debut
    In The Keeper of Lost Causes, American audiences were finally introduced to Copenhagen's Detective Carl Morck and his creator, #1 international bestselling author Jussi Adler-Olsen. Now, Morck is back. He's settled into Department Q and is ready to take on another cold case. This time, it's the brutal double-murder of a brother and sister two decades earlier. One of the suspects confessed and is serving time, but it's clear to Morck that all is not what it seems. Kimmie, a homeless woman with secrets involving certain powerful individuals, could hold the key-'if Morck can track her down before they do.

empty