• Portia Kane vit un moment difficile. Elle a quitté son mari infidèle et sa confortable vie en Floride. De retour chez sa mère à Philadelphie, elle décide de retrouver Nate Vernon, son professeur de littérature au lycée, qu'elle adorait. Celui-ci a toujours fait preuve d'une grande bonté envers ses élèves, mais une agression survenue en plein cours l'a profondément traumatisé. Il mène désormais une existence recluse, avec son chien pour unique compagnie. Portia parviendra-t-elle à aider cet homme à repartit du bon pied et à lui redonner confiance en ses semblables ?
    Matthew Quick a un don pour évoquer des personnages blessés par la vie. Inspirant ! The Boston Globe.
    Emouvant et réjouissant. Glamour US.
    Il y a toujours une raison d'espérer dans les romans de Matthew Quick. Un livre charmant et divertissant. New York Daily News.
    Traduit de l'anglais (Etats-Unis) par Pascal Loubet.

  • Pendant trente-huit ans, Bartholomew Neil a vécu seul avec sa mère... jusqu'au jour où la maladie l'emporte. Comment vivre sans elle ? Ainsi commence la quête de notre héros pour se construire une nouvelle famille. Un prêtre défroqué, une bibliothécaire agoraphobe, un acolyte survolté rencontré en analyse, une psychothérapeute borderline, sans oublier Richard Gere, auquel Bartholomew est persuadé d'être uni par un lien cosmique... Tout ce petit monde s'embarquera dans une Ford Focus de location, à la recherche d'un mystérieux Parlement des Chats, et de bien plus encore...
    Best-seller international, Cher Monsieur Richard Gere est en cours de réalisation par Dreamworks. Matthew Quick est aussi l'auteur d'un roman adapté au cinéma sous le titre Happiness Therapy, un film récompensé par huit Oscars.
     
    Merveilleux et extravagant, bourré d'émotion, d'humour et de folie. Le Parisien.
    Drôle, tendre, farfelu, terriblement humain. L'Alsace.
    Ce livre a paru initialement dans la collection Préludes sous le titre Saisis ta chance, Bartholomew Neil.

  • " En plus du P-38, le flingue de mon grand-père, il y a quatre paquets, un pour chacun de mes amis. Je veux leur dire au revoir correctement. Je veux qu'ils gardent un souvenir de moi. Qu'ils sachent que je suis désolé d'avoir dû leur fausser compagnie. Qu'ils ne sont pas responsables de ce qui va se passer... " Aujourd'hui, Leonard Peacock a dix-huit ans. C'est le jour qu'il a choisi pour tuer son ancien meilleur ami. Ensuite, il se suicidera. Plus tard, peut-être, il se dira que c'est OK, voire important, d'être différent. Mais pas aujourd'hui. " On a besoin de livres comme celui de Matthew Quick. " The New York Times. Après Happiness Therapy, le premier roman Young Adult de Matthew Quick, bientôt adapté au cinéma par Channing Tatum

  • THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERPat Peoples knows that life doesn't always go according to plan, but he's determined to get his back on track. After a stint in a psychiatric hospital, Pat is staying with his parents and trying to live according to his new philosophy: get fit, be nice and always look for the silver lining. Most importantly, Pat is determined to be reconciled with his wife Nikki.Pat's parents just want to protect him so he can get back on his feet, but when Pat befriends the mysterious Tiffany, the secrets they've been keeping from him threaten to come out . . .The Silver Linings Playbook has been adapted into an Academy Award-winning film starring Bradley Cooper, Jennifer Lawrence and Robert De Niro.

  • A powerful and important book for fans of Mark Haddon, THE SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK and Jay Asher.
    How would you spend your birthday if you knew it would be your last?
    Eighteen-year-old Leonard Peacock knows exactly what he'll do. He'll say goodbye.
    Not to his mum - who he calls Linda because it annoys her - who's moved out and left him to fend for himself. Nor to his former best friend, whose torments have driven him to consider committing the unthinkable. But to his four friends: a Humphrey-Bogart-obsessed neighbour, a teenage violin virtuoso, a pastor's daughter and a teacher.
    Most of the time, Leonard believes he's weird and sad but these friends have made him think that maybe he's not. He wants to thank them, and say goodbye. In this riveting and heart-breaking book, acclaimed author Matthew Quick introduces Leonard Peacock, a hero as warm and endearing as he is troubled. And he shows how just a glimmer of hope can make the world of difference.

  • Anglais All Together Now!

    Matthew Quick

    Published in the UK for the first time, this is the powerful and moving debut from the author of the Oscar-winning THE SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK. For fans of Jay Asher and THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER.
    Amber Appleton has a lot to be thankful for.
    OR
    Amber Appleton has never had it easy.
    Both are true. On the one hand, she's got the best friends a seventeen year old could ask for and a loyal dog, Bobby Big Boy. On the other, her mum frequently has too much to drink, Amber's never quite sure where her next meal will come from and ever since her mum's latest boyfriend kicked them out, Amber and her mum have been living in the back of a school bus.
    Amber has always found it easy to be upbeat, to find the light in the darkest of situations. Until, that is, an unimaginable tragedy occurs. Forced to rethink her way of life, can Amber remain a rock star of hope?
    This is the story of a very special teenager, whose faith and hope is tested to the limit.

  • From Matthew Quick, the bestselling author of The Silver Linings Playbook.
    'Original, compelling, uplifiting' Graeme Simsion, author of The Rosie Project.Bartholomew Neil is thirty-nine and lost.
    After the death of his beloved mum he has no idea how to be on his own, and he knows it's about time he found his flock.But how does a man whose whole life has been grounded learn how to fly?
    And what can Richard Gere, a beautiful librarian, a struggling priest and a foul-mouthed and troubled young man teach Bartholomew about finding love and happiness?Whatever it is, Bartholomew is in for a lot more than he bargained for . . .'The Good Luck of Right Now is original, compelling, and uplifting . . . His writing is shot through with wit and humanity' Graeme Simsion, author of The Rosie Project

  • Anglais Love May Fail

    Matthew Quick

    From the New York Times bestselling author of The Silver Linings Playbook.'Brilliant . . . compulsively readable . . . Love May Fail is as wholly transporting as any cinematic experience' GQ
    Portia Kane has escaped her cheating husband only to find herself back at square one, living with her mum in a place she thought she'd left behind forever. Lost and alone, looking to find the goodness she believes still exists in the world, Portia sets off to save herself by saving someone else - a beloved high school English teacher who has retired after a traumatic incident.Can Chuck, the handsome brother of Portia's old school friend, together with a sassy nun and a metal-head little boy, help Portia's chances in her bid for renewed hope in the human race?Moving and funny, Love May Fail by Matthew Quick is about the heartache and daring choices it takes to become the person you know deep down you are meant to be.

  • From Matthew Quick, bestselling author of THE SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK, comes EVERY EXQUISITE THING, a quirky and deeply moving novel about a teen's journey through love, rebellion and belonging. For readers who love John Green and Rainbow Rowell.'Books like Quick's are necessary' New York Times
    Nanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the role of dutiful daughter, hard-working student, and star athlete for as long as she can remember. But when a beloved teacher gives her his worn copy of The Bubblegum Reaper - the mysterious, out-of-print cult-classic - the rebel within Nanette awakens. As she befriends the reclusive author, falls in love with a young but troubled poet, and attempts to insert her true self into the world with wild abandon, Nanette learns the hard way that sometimes rebellion comes at a high price.A celebration of the self and the formidable power of story, Every Exquisite Thing is Matthew Quick at his finest.

  • Après un séjour en hôpital psychiatrique, Pat est de retour chez lui avec une philosophie de vie bien particulière : faire du sport, maigrir, et essayer d'être toujours d'humeur positive. Tout cela dans un seul but : reconquérir sa femme.
    Un soir, chez un couple d'amis, il fait la connaissance de Tiffany, une jeune veuve dépressive qui semble avoir au moins autant de failles que lui. Malgré les réticences premières de Pat, ils concluent un marché : elle servira d'intermédiaire pour transmettre les lettres que Pat écrit à sa femme si celui-ci accepte de participer avec elle à une compétition de danse...
     
    Ce premier roman qui a révélé Matthew Quick a été adapté au cinéma avec Bradley Cooper et Jennifer Lawrence en têtes d'affiche. 
    « Un premier roman touchant et drôle. Cette histoire décalée possède tous les marqueurs d'un succès populaire. » Publishers Weekly
    « Un premier roman charmant. » The Wall Street Journal

empty